Below are some of the submissions we received in response to our Consultation Paper and our Draft Proposals.

We have not published every submission we received. Reasons for this include:

  • the author wishes us to keep the submission confidential
  • the submission relates to a case that is or might come before the courts
  • the submission contains particularly sensitive, offensive or potentially defamatory material.

We note that while privilege attaches to our reports, no privilege attaches to individual submissions made to us. We have taken this into account when deciding what to publish.

We will consider all submissions in full as part of our review process, even if we don't publish them or redact parts of them.

Content warning: Some of these submissions contain sensitive material relating to sexual assault and/or violence that may confront or disturb readers.

If you need help, some options for advice and support are listed below:

  • NSW Victims Services
    • Call the Victims Access Line on 1800 633 063 or the Aboriginal Contact Line on 1800 019 123
    • The Victims Access Line is the single entry point for victims of crime in NSW to access information, referrals, support and counselling.

  • NSW Rape Crisis Centre 
    • Call 1800 424 017 or visit
    • NSW Rape Crisis is a 24/7 telephone and online counselling service for anyone affected by sexual assault in NSW.
  • Sexual Assault Counselling Australia 
    • Call 1800 211 028 or visit
    • Sexual Assault Counselling Australia provides counselling, information and referral.

Submissions on the Draft Proposals

CO44 Australian Lawyers Alliance (PDF, 1.3 MB)

CO47 NSW Bar Association (PDF, 405.5 KB)

CO53 Andrew Dyer (PDF, 190.7 KB)

CO55 Children's Court of NSW (PDF, 176.2 KB)

CO60 Domestic Violence NSW (PDF, 635.4 KB)

CO61 ACON (PDF, 371.7 KB)

CO62 Positive Life NSW (PDF, 412.5 KB)

CO63 Dr Rachael Burgin and Professor Jonathan Crowe (PDF, 158.8 KB)

CO65 Rape and Domestic Violence Services Australia (PDF, 3.9 MB)

CO66 Associate Professor Julia Quilter and Professor Luke McNamara (PDF, 91.0 KB)

CO67 ANROWS (PDF, 111.3 KB)

CO68 Wirringa Baiya Aboriginal Women's Legal Centre (PDF, 12.2 MB)

CO69 UNSW School of Social Sciences (PDF, 378.0 KB)

CO70 Women's Legal Service NSW (PDF, 333.7 KB)

CO71 Care Leavers Australia Network (PDF, 200.9 KB)

CO72 Australian Queer Students' Network (PDF, 331.5 KB)

CO73 Community Legal Centres NSW (PDF, 214.3 KB)

CO74 Women's Safety NSW (PDF, 488.0 KB)

CO76 The Law Society of New South Wales (PDF, 6.8 MB)

CO77 Lismore Women's Health and Resource Centre (PDF, 237.8 KB)

CO80 National Association of People with HIV Australia (PDF, 325.9 KB)

CO81 Wilma Women's Health Centre (PDF, 381.0 KB)

CO82 Inner City Legal Centre (PDF, 521.5 KB)

CO83 Central Coast Community Women's Health Centre (PDF, 185.0 KB)

CO84 The Public Defenders (PDF, 235.4 KB)

CO85 Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions NSW (PDF, 10.3 MB)

CO86 NSW Young Lawyers Criminal Law Committee (PDF, 1.2 MB)

CO87 Legal Aid NSW (PDF, 376.5 KB)

CO88 Wagga Women's Health Centre Inc (PDF, 129.6 KB)

Submissions on the Consultation Paper

CO02 Andrew Dyer (PDF, 512.6 KB)

CO03 NSW Department of Family and Community Services (PDF, 3.7 MB)

CO04 Care Leavers Australia Network (PDF, 232.4 KB)

CO05 Australian Lawyers Alliance (PDF, 814.0 KB)

CO06 Rachael Burgin (PDF, 184.2 KB)

CO07 Dr Julia Quilter (PDF, 530.3 KB)

CO08 Feminist Legal Clinic (PDF, 141.2 KB) 

CO09 Dr Arlie Loughnan, Dr Carolyn McKay, Dr Tanya Mitchell and Professor Rita Shackel (PDF, 408.5 KB) 

CO10 Positive Life NSW (PDF, 1.8 MB)

CO11 Victims of Crime Assistance League (PDF, 1.5 MB)

CO12 AIDS Council of NSW (ACON) (PDF, 1.0 MB)

CO13 Professor Luke McNamara, Professor Julie Stubbs, Helen Gibbon, Melanie Schwartz and Professor Alex Steel (PDF, 131.1 KB)

CO14 Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (PDF, 1.9 MB)

CO15 Sex Workers Outreach Project  (PDF, 740.6 KB)

CO17 Professor Annie Cossins (PDF, 408.8 KB)

CO18 Law Society of NSW (PDF, 1.6 MB)

CO19 Children's Court of NSW (PDF, 2.0 MB)

CO20 Australia's National Organisation for Women's Safety (PDF, 523.4 KB)

CO21 NSW Young Lawyers Criminal Law Committee (PDF, 2.0 MB)

CO23 Wirringa Baiya Aboriginal Women's Legal Centre (PDF, 611.0 KB)

CO24 Elizabeth Evatt Community Legal Centre (PDF, 571.8 KB)

CO25 Community Legal Centres NSW (PDF, 1.2 MB)

CO26 Women's Electoral Lobby (PDF, 101.3 KB)

CO27 Women's Legal Service NSW (PDF, 614.7 KB)

CO28 Rape and Domestic Violence Services Australia (PDF, 669.7 KB)

CO29 Domestic Violence NSW (PDF, 1.0 MB)

CO30 Women's Domestic Violence Court Advocacy Services NSW (PDF, 664.3 KB)

CO31 Corrective Services NSW, Victims Support Unit (PDF, 352.8 KB)

CO32 NSW Bar Association (PDF, 28.3 MB)

CO33 Legal Aid NSW (PDF, 334.8 KB)

CO34 Western NSW Community Legal Centre and Western Women's Legal Support (PDF, 6.1 MB)

Last updated:

26 Sep 2023

Was this content useful?
We will use your rating to help improve the site.
Please don't include personal or financial information here
Please don't include personal or financial information here

We acknowledge Aboriginal people as the First Nations Peoples of NSW and pay our respects to Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the ongoing connection Aboriginal people have to this land and recognise Aboriginal people as the original custodians of this land.

Top Return to top of page Top